7- A tragedy in the family

“It felt so far away when I wrote this.”

Are you in a better mood this morning George?  Hang on what?  – Looks at title of book- 1984!

“But I’m not wrong big brother is watching everything we do, just not in the way I envisioned.”

Are you telling me your really George Orwell?  But you died in 1950!  No wonder you are a technophobe!

Morning Liv aren’t you adorable.

Woah!  That was a sudden change.  ROSE!

Looking up from the bed she’s making Rose asks exasperated “what?”

Liv’s up and screaming her head off.  I think her mother scarred her for life.

“I’m on my way.”

“Here comes the tickle monster.”  Liv laughs in the cutest of ways.

I know I’ve said it before but your good with her.

“Yeah well someone has to be.”

That’s so very true!

Look at that your favorite Rose’s chocolate oatmeal.  Now where are your useless parents?

Where are you two going?

“Happy anniversary darling.”  Calvin says as the food arrives.

Is this why you were ignoring your child?  To find a good restaurant for your anniversary.  I am sure it could have waited.

“I’ve been thinking maybe we should put Olivia in boarding school when she comes of school age.”

“We could give her the best education around.  I think it’s a great idea.”  CeeCee says remembering last night.

Are you two serious?

“Have you noticed it’s gone dark?”  CeeCee asks Calvin.

“You know what you are… what’s that?”

“I don’t know.”  CeeCee says staring at it strangely.

“Is it a bird… or a plane… ”

No it’s a…. OMG!  ROSE!

“What now?”

Calvin & CeeCee just got hit by a giant meteor at the restaurant in town.

“Don’t be silly.”

I’m not being silly a giant rock just… oh never mind -runs back off to the restaurant.-

“Lets see who we have to collect today.”

No Death you can’t who will Liv have to not take care of her?

“Hey man.”

“It’s your time to go Calvin.”

“Ok man, lets go.”

Just like that you will leave your daughter, no can I not have another day or anything just yeah man lets go?!?  

“Spider!”

-runs back to Rose-

I thought you didn’t believe me.

“An old schoolmate just text me about a meteor hitting the restaurant in town.  I’m sorry I didn’t believe you.”

Well I really have no reason to lie to you, you know.

Oh poor Liv -runs back to check on her mother-

“PLEASE!  I have a daughter, I’ve been an awful mother and I need to make it up to her.”

“You had your chance and your time is up.  Now please stand up grovelling doesn’t suit anyone.”

I can’t believe you care!  Maybe I judged you harshly… or maybe I didn’t.

“There is no one left to care for her.”

Does she not have an aunt or an uncle?  Why can’t you hear me?

“I am sure someone will make sure she’s cared for, I’m not here for her so she has plenty of time to get over your wrong doings.”

“Can you tell her I’m sorry?”

“Nope sorry that’s not my job either.  I’ve simply come to take you and your husband to the other side.”

No it’s my job to tell Rose now.

“Looks like my job is done here.”  And with that he dissapears.

Arya oblivious to whats happened at the restaurant is telling off her quarterback for not moving quickly enough.  “Move, move move!!”

Oh no!  Umm Rose there’s a police officer at the door.

“Alright I’ll be right there.”

“Hello officer, can I help?”

“I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news Miss Sky but the Harris’s have died in a freak meteor shower.”

“No!  I had heard about the shower from a text, but Calvin & CeeCee are definitely gone?”

I’m sorry Rose but it’s true.

“I’m sorry.  Is that their little girl?”

“Yes.”  Rose strokes Liv’s hair.

“There are no other relatives.  She doesn’t have anyone.”

Rose puts Liv down before she breaks down.  “Oh please don’t tell me that officer.  I woke up this morning to find out I was pregnant, I can’t run this place and raise two children under school age.”  Rose says really quickly not able to stop crying.

“Hey there Miss Sky,” he starts to grab Rose sure she is going to fall.  “I know it seems hard now but you don’t have to do it, you can let the system take her in, they should be able to find her a family.”

Rose cries into the officers shoulder.  “I can’t do that I’m the closest thing she has to a mother seeing as her parents never really knew her.  I can’t just ship her off, she’ll always think no one ever wants her.”

“She’s not your responsibility if you don’t want.  She’s young enough she would get over it.”

“No a child never forgets getting shipped off due to be being a burden.”  Rose cries harder than before.

Oh Rose your mother never thought of you as a burden, she just never understood who you truly are.

“I can’t do that to her.”

“Well Miss Sky your a commendable woman,” he gives Rose some flowers.  “Here is for your wonderful heart and I hope you can smile again soon.”

“Thank you officer, but I really hope your not hitting on me, I’m pregnant and dealing with a tragedy.”

Yeah that definitely would class as bad timing.

“No I swear I just think what your going to do is amazing and I wish you all the best.”

Rose leaves the officer and goes in to find Liv.  “Come here little girl,” she picks her up.  “We need to talk but to do that I need to teach you to talk.”

“Alright where to start?”

Best of luck Rose I’ll leave you alone now.

“No Spider I’m going to need you if I’m to take care of two kids.”

I’ll be around but you need some alone time right now with Liv.

“Alright see you later,” tears fill Rose’s eyes.  The poor thing has never asked for me to stick around never mind to not shut up.  She must be in shock.

